VirtualWind IV

About this Event

ORE Catapult is teaming up with Fraunhofer IWES, to host the VirtualWind IV online conference focusing on the current challenges for offshore wind energy in the North Sea. With sessions on rotorblade manufacturing, join us on the 1st of July to hear from a wide range of experts.

At the end of each presentation you will have the opportunity to ask questions to the speaker using the chat function. Please note that this session will be recorded. Technical responsibility: ORE Catapult.

Please register here

 

Program 

Event timings are in British Standard Time (BST) / Central European Summer Time (CEST)

9.00 a.m. (BST) / 10.00 a.m. (CEST)
Welcome: Prof. Andreas Reuter, Managing Director, Fraunhofer IWES and Andrew Jamieson, Chief Executive, ORE Catapult 
 
Keynote: title tba
Prof. Dr.- Ing. Carsten Burchardt, Research Manager, Strategic Business Consulting, Siemens Digital Industries Software GmbH

 

Rotor blade manufacturing

Chaired by Dr.-Ing. Steffen Czichon, Head of Department Rotor Blades, Fraunhofer IWES

 

09:30 a.m. (BST) / 10:30 a.m. (CEST) 
tbc


09:50 a.m. (BST) / 10:50 a.m. (CEST) 
Industrializing Rotor Blade Manufacturing – Large Scale Research

Heiko Rosemann, Research associate, Fraunhofer IWES        


10:10 a.m. (BST) / 11:10 a.m. (CEST) 
Use of a digital machine twin along a multi-process chain for manufacturing support of large wind power components

Lars Windels, CEO, SWMS Systemtechnik Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH


10:30 a.m. (BST) / 11:30 a.m. (CEST) 
Additive Manufacturing of Wind Turbine Blade Core Materials

Dr. Peter Greaves, Research Engineer, ORE Catapult


10:50 a.m (BST) / 11:50 a.m. (CEST) Short Break


11:00 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. (BST) / 12:00 p.m. – 12:45 p.m. (CEST) 
Panel discussion with all participants


Optional: 11:45 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. (BST) / 12:45 p.m. – 13:45 p.m. (CEST) 

Break out session

Expert session with Heiko Rosemann, Reasearch associate Fraunhofer IWES: interactive Q&A and virtual tour of IWES' BladeMaker Demo Center in Bremerhaven, Germany.

End

 

Previous sessions:

VirtualWind III

 

VirtualWindII

 

VirtualWind I